skip to main content | skip to footer
North Carolina Department of Environment Quality

NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership - Living Shorelines Action Team

Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Living Shorelines Action Team

(Living Shorelines Steering Committee)

Overview          Meetings and Meeting Materials         Members           Documents

SAV

(Photo Credit: Vance Miller)

For additional information about this team, please contact APNEP support staff at the links below.

Overview

The Living Shorelines Action Team (Living Shorelines Steering Committee) is facilitated by both APNEP and the N.C. Coastal Federation.  This action team consists of scientists, federal and state agency personnel, and NGOs working together to coordinate education, implementation, research, and monitoring of living shorelines in North Carolina.

Members participating with this team will pursue actions aligned with N.C. Department of Environmental Quality’s Coastal Habitat Protection Plan, N.C. Division of Coastal Management’s Living Shoreline Strategies, and the N.C. Coastal Federation’s Goals.

 

APNEP’s living shoreline Comprehensive Conservation Management Plan (CCMP) actions are as follows:

  • Action B3.1: Assist local governments in the development of incentives for protecting natural shorelines. Incentives and techniques will be developed and promoted that encourage the protection of natural shorelines as an alternative to hardened structures such as bulkheads and sea walls.
  • Action B3.2: Develop and distribute educational materials encouraging landowners to protect natural shorelines. APNEP will work with its partners to continue to develop materials will describe how living shorelines are a viable alternative to hardened structures and explain the benefits natural shorelines provide.
  • Action C1.3: Facilitate the restoration of riparian and estuarine shorelines. Impacted shorelines will be replanted with native vegetation. Where feasible, bulkheads, and riprap structures will be replaced with living shorelines or structures that control erosion with the least impact to natural shoreline function.
  • Action C2.2: Facilitate the development of incentives to replace hardened estuarine shorelines with living shorelines. Regulatory and financial incentives will make it easier to construct living shorelines and help motivate landowners to restore shoreline property. Technical assistance can demonstrate that living shorelines are a viable option for shoreline stabilization. 

For a more detailed explanation of how these actions contribute to an ecosystem-based approach, APNEP’s CCMP can be found here.

 

APNEP staff support: Trish Murphey, Jimmy Johnson

 

Living Shorelines Resources:

Web Content Display Web Content Display

 Meetings and Meeting Materials

Meeting Agenda Notes Meeting Materials
July 25, 2018
NCCF Office, Newport NC

 

 

 

Draft MOU

Team CCMP Actions

Steering Committee Members 

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Steering Committee Members

Name Affiliation Email
Anne Deaton NC Division of Marine Fisheries anne.deaton@ncdenr.gov
Brian Boutin The Nature Conservancy bboutin@tnc.org
Brian Silliman Duke University brian.silliman@duke.edu
Carolyn Currin NOAA carolyn.currin@noaa.gov
Daniel Govoni NC Division of Coastal Management daniel.govoni@ncdenr.gov
Devon Eulie UNC Wilmington eulied@uncw.edu
Heidi Wadman ACOE FRF.Wadman@gmail.com
Jimmy Johnson Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership jimmy.johnson@apnep.org
Karen Higgins NC Division of Water Resources karen.higgins@ncdenr.gov
Lexia Weaver NC Coastal Federation lexiaw@nccoast.org
Niels Lindquist UNC Institute of Marine Sciences nlindquist@unc.edu
Paul Wojoski NC Division of Water Resources paul.wojoski@ncdenr.gov
Rachel Gittman East Carolina University gittmanr17@ecu.edu
Rebecca Ellin NC Division of Coastal Management rebecca.ellin@ncdenr.gov
Reide Corbett East Carolina University corbettd@ecu.edu
Spencer Rogers NC Sea Grant rogerssp@uncw.edu
Todd Miller NC Coastal Federation toddm@nccoast.org
Trish Murphey Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership trish.murphey@ncdenr.gov
Twyla Cheatwood NOAA twyla.cheatwood@noaa.gov
Whitney Jenkins NC Division of Coastal Management whitney.jenkins@ncdenr.gov
Web Content Display Web Content Display

Documents 

Year Title Download
2014 NC DCM and NC DMF Living Shorelines Strategy PDF
2016 NC DCM and NC DMF Living Shorelines Strategy: Accomplishments Report PDF
2016 North Carolina Coastal Habitat Protection Plan PDF

 

Web Content Display Web Content Display
61563 FEEDBACK

Your input is valuable to us. Please send us your feedback.

What type of feedback would you like to send?*

Ask a Question Report a Problem Have a Concern Make a Comment

(If you would like us to respond please include your phone or e-mail.)

Your Question has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Problem has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Concern has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Comment has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

*If you are a DENR employee with an I.T. issue, please submit a DOTS ticket.